Skip to content ↓

PSHE curriculum and information for parents

At Hawthorn Primary we ensure all the requirements from the DFE and The National Curriculum are covered using The Jigsaw teaching programme for Personal, Social, Emotional Education also referred to as PSHE.

Below is a detailed overview of the PSHE curriculum.

The teaching of PSHE is planned throughout the year and the overview below demonstrates the order in which each each unit is taught.  

Being in My World

Autumn 1

Celebrating Difference

Autumn 2

Dreams and Goals

Spring 1


Healthy Me

Spring 2



Summer 1

Changing Me

Summer 2

Pupils are taught to take responsibility for their own behaviour and understand how this impacts others. This progresses to how the choices a person makes impacts in class, community and globally.

Pupils explore the importance of learning to listen to others as well as being listened to. Rules, rights and responsibilities are explored. Pupils compare self- identity with how they think others perceive them. 

By exploring what makes each person special and comparing similarities and differences between characters, pupils learn to celebrate difference.

How to make friends, standing up for yourself and hurtful words are studied to help pupils understand the many forms of bullying that exist. Pupils learn how to give compliments, problem solve and show empathy

Stereotypes are explored too in relation to gender, race and disability.

Family conflicts are also explored.

Pupils consider different learning styles and how success criteria can help us achieve our personal learning goals including how to overcome obstacles.

The emotions that are felt in success and disappointment are explored. Pupils are taught how we can all make a positive difference in the world. How achievements are recognised, jobs, simple budgeting and supporting others (charity) are also taught in this area.

Healthier food choices, food labels, relationships with food and healthy eating and nutrition (including snacks and sharing food) are explored in this area.

Pupils earn about rising to fitness challenges and why exercising is so important. The importance of getting enough sleep, emotional and mental health support and strategies for managing stress are also covered.  

Pupils learn different aspects about keeping safe, e.g. both on and offline, attitudes towards drugs, how substances affect the body, smoking (including vaping) and the link between alcohol and anti-social behaviour.

Pupils also learn about exploitation, county lines and gang culture.


Pupils learn about family life and friendships (including falling out, how to be a good friend and celebrating special relationships.

Physical contact preferences and boundaries are explored too.

Pupils learn about the people who help us in our everyday lives.

A range of emotions are explored- jealousy, love and loss and feelings around memories of loved ones.

Topics such as boyfriends and girlfriends, building self-esteem and appreciating animals and people are also explored in this area.

Issues such as online gambling and gaming, grooming and support to reduce screen time are also covered.

In this final half term, the focus is on our bodies, how they change and how to cope with it, growing from a baby to an adult and animal and human life cycles.

The needs of baby and how they grow are also studied.

Puberty and the differences between male and female bodies using the correct terminology is taught.

Subjects such as conception (including IVF),  and sexting are also studied.

Each unit is broken down in to small 'pieces' to create six lessons covered across a half term.

Relationships and Changing me 

The final 2 units are taught in the summer term.  This unit covers the statutory Relationship Education, Sex Education and Health Education, often referred to as RSHE or RSE.

Below is a detailed overview of The Jigsaw Programme and RSHE.  This included details about what your child will be learning at each part of their journey through school within these lessons. It also included some helpful tips on speaking to your child at home about RSHE.  Jigsaw is a great scheme that have also allowed us to share the planning for each of these topics.  The planning for each year group can be found below.